Have you ever wondered what it would be like to volunteer at Calvary?

For those of you out there who have been thinking, I wonder what it would be like to serve at Calvary, you can now know as Colin James shares his story of how he came to volunteer at Calvary and what it has been like for him. Thank you for sharing your story with us, Colin.

The community of Calvary Baptist Church is very special to me.  I’ve been a member of Calvary for a couple of years.  For some time now I have been thinking about ways to give back to a community that has been so loving and supportive of my spiritual journey.
 
Like so many others at this time, I recently became unemployed.  Being without a job means a lot of free time.  What does one do with so much free time?  I wish I could say that making the decision to volunteer for the ESL program at Calvary was purely altruistic, but it wasn’t.  Being unemployed can cause feelings of anxiety, fear of financial insecurity, and just plain old worry.  So, I decided that one way I could shift the focus from myself was to be of service to others.
 
Being of service to others helps me far more than it does those I am helping.  It gets me out of the house and out of my head!  God has always taken care of my needs, so there is really no need to fear.  Because I have some teaching experience, I believe that I have found a good match in teaching ESL.  It is a wonderful and useful service to our community, and I am thankful that Calvary has given me this opportunity.
 
Colin

This entry was posted in Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

