Advent Devotional- December 21

December 21                               Monday                                       Renewal

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.” 2 Corinthians 4:16

 

My Grandmother keeps falling. It is a horrible concern of mine. To see such a strong, noble, and generous woman, who has impacted my life greatly, struggle with the simple act of walking makes me sad beyond reason. It is the topic of “secret” family conversations, because, in small ways, we are coming to terms with the mortality of our beloved matriarch.

 

To talk to my Grandmother is a great gift for me. You see, on the phone, I can imagine her however I want. She can be the woman of my youth, who would hide chocolate around the house for my brother and I to discover as part of our treasure seeking, or the woman of my teenaged years imparting her wisdom with great authority and care. The voice that I hear on the phone is not that of a woman struggling with her health; rather, it is the hopeful, joyful, loving being whose pursuit of scripture and truth is positively life changing.

 

My Grandmother is a source of renewal and a role model for how to love others. Unlike many in my life, she gives more than she takes. She waits in preparation for what God has in store and chooses to share her journey with those with whom she comes in contact. She seeks guidance daily from our Lord and scripture. To talk to her is to understand in the simplest terms that God loves us. What a blessing! I honestly believe that if we each behaved just a little like my Grandmother, our world would be a completely different place. We would appreciate each day and not take for granted what we have been given.

 

I believe that this sense of seeking and appreciation is what the text in 2 Corinthians is discussing. The passage goes on to say, “For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”

 

So, I encourage you during this Season of Advent don’t focus on this world in its harsh, unforgiving reality, instead chose to stand in opposition to it and walk alongside others in need. Be a source of renewal, just like my Grandmother.

 

Ben Mann

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

