Advent Devotional-December 7

December 7                                 Monday                                 Expectation

I used to expect a lot from God.

 

I expected God to bless me in very specific ways. I thought that my devotion gave me the right to expect these things of God. When God didn’t bless me in those ways, I tried to figure out why and decided it was because my expectations didn’t line up with God’s will. God blessed me in ways I didn’t expect. (But I was still disappointed sometimes.)

 

I expected God to answer my prayers. I thought I was asking for things God would want for me. When God didn’t answer my prayers, I tried to figure out why and decided it was because I didn’t really know what was good for me. God gave me other good things. (But I was still bewildered sometimes.)

 

I expected God to punish me for my sins. I thought God’s holiness demanded it. When God didn’t punish me, I tried to figure out why and decided it was because I didn’t really know what sin was or what holiness was. God has shaped my character in other ways. (But I’m still afraid sometimes.)

 

Today I expect very little from God. But I love God a lot more.

 

Allyson Robinson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

