Lent Devotional- March 13

March 13                                                                      Luke 9:18-20

Washington is a city of issues. Listening to the issues of the day being debated in restaurants, on the subway and in the paper is a great spectator sport. The issues are often weighty, but the easy thing about listening is that I don’t have to take a stand. I can listen without going through the mental heavy lifting of determining where I stand on the issue, and no one is going to force me to make a decision. It is said that politicians are great at avoiding tough questions, but the truth is that we all are experts at avoiding the questions that are most important.

In Luke 9:18-20 Jesus prevents us from dodging the big issue. Jesus demands an answer. He asks “who do you say I am?” It’s a tough question, for there is little middle ground. Based on his claims about himself, either Jesus Christ is the Son of the Almighty God or a complete fraud. If he is a fraud, then why do I cling to him? And if he is the Messiah, why do I put my trust, my treasure and my time into so many lesser things? Lent is a good time to look into my own heart and ask the hard questions again. It’s time to face the issue, and take a stand.

 

Lord Jesus, help me to confess, like Peter, that you are the Christ. Then grant me the courage to base my other choices on that truth.

David Grise

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

