Lent Devotional- March 10

March 10                                                                   Psalm 22:23-31

This psalm of David strikes me as a great example of a defiant life. David begins his thoughts with the words that Christ would utter with anguish on the cross: “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” and then alternates throughout the rest of the psalm with expressions of unflinching reassurance in God’s faithfulness (…”from my mother’s womb you have been my God,” vs. 10) and powerful descriptions of deep pain and vivid fears (“I am poured out like water and all my bones are out of joint,” vs. 14). The last portion of the psalm on which we are focused today celebrates God’s help, protection, and power. Despite David’s profound struggles, he does not resign himself to his difficulties. Rather, he reiterates God’s unwavering love and power, ending his words with a resounding sense of comfort and assurance.

This passage reminds me that despite the many challenges, struggles, and burdens that come my way, God is always with me. No matter how chaotic things may be (I experience frequent chaos as a social worker in long-term care!), no matter how loudly the world yells “Give up” or exclaims “Why bother?” or declares “Nothing is ever going to change,” I can live with assurance and endurance–with defiance–because God is always in control. Therefore, good will ultimately triumph over evil; love will defeat hatred; equity will vanquish injustice; assurance will uproot fear, and joy will conquer pain. Thanks be to God!

 

God, please comfort me with your love and reassure me with your power as I continue on this journey.

Jodi Smith

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

