Lent Devotional- February 27

February 27                                               2 Corinthians 5:20b-6:10

When I rise in the morning, I wake to the sun rising and cold chill of the morning. I wake up to the reality that I am a Christian. I awaken feeling loved by Christ but knowing that I share a responsibility with so many others to help mankind.

Sometimes the responsibility of being a Christian fills me with delight. I am filled with love and unselfishness. However, sometimes I wake up and I am tired. I find myself ignoring the homeless guy on the corner or I don’t smile at my grumpy neighbor; Often because I am so caught up in the rigors of my own daily life.

The scripture for today tells us that we should be “Ambassadors of Christ” and that job may not always be pleasant but we should approach our task with vigor, defiance and knowledge that the love of God will propel us and protect us regardless of the task.

2 Corinthians 6 (New Living Translation.)

4 In everything we do, we show that we are true ministers of God. We patiently endure troubles and hardships and calamities of every kind.

 

6We prove ourselves by our purity, our understanding, our patience, our kindness, by the Holy Spirit within us, and by our sincere love.

 

7 We faithfully preach the truth. God’s power is working in us. We use the weapons of righteousness in the right hand for attack and the left hand for defense.

 

8 We serve God whether people honor us or despise us, whether they slander us or praise us.

So the next time, you are greeted by a difficult co-worker or an unpleasant neighbor, think about the job that we all have as an “Ambassador of Christ.”

Tanya Coble

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

