Advent Devotional- December 21

 

December 21

Fourth Sunday of Advent

Luke 2:14

The words of Luke 2:14 have been memorialized throughout so many of my favorite celebrations of the Christmas season, especially Christmas carols, which I absolutely adore. It Came upon a Midnight Clear, Gloria, Angels We Have Heard on High, and my very favorite, Hark the Herald Angels Sing.

 carolines-devotional

 

 

 

Hark the herald angels sing

“Glory to the newborn King!

Peace on earth and mercy mild

God and sinners reconciled”

Joyful, all ye nations rise

Join the triumph of the skies

With the angelic host proclaim:

“Christ is born in Bethlehem”

Hark! The herald angels sing

“Glory to the newborn King!”

 

As I sing along, I am taken back to my favorite holiday memory of the ending of The Charlie Brown Christmas Special, where Charlie Brown and his friends gather around his little tree to sing this hymn in unison.

 

The scene that moves me the most is when Linus answers Charlie Brown’s question of “Does anyone know what Christmas is all about?” Linus promptly takes center stage and requests, “Lights, please.” If you are like me, you can probably quote the scene verbatim.

 

As I thought about creating a piece for my advent devotional, my mind was full of the bright colors of the 50s cartoon set – the hot pink curtains, the lavender back drop, and Linus’ orange coat and chartreuse hat. Yet, these colors have nothing to do with visions of angels proclaiming Jesus’ birth, which I imagine were rich, lush night blues, glimmering brilliant whites, and golden rays of heavenliness glowing from the neutral tones of the rustic manger.

 

In short, I took the more traditional route by selecting a lustrous color palette and paid homage to my childhood with the selection of the same traditional translation of Luke 2:14 that Linus used. And finally using a traditional medium of paper cutting to express the glorious nature of the message shared so many years ago.

 

Caroline Armijo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

