Eric’s Observations

I’m moving this week.  Some of you have gone through the headache of moving in the last few months (Zach and Liz, Courtney and Sarah, Leah, Eva), and I now empathize with you in taking on a task that at first seems trivial, but in actuality is rather enormous.

I’m quite amazed at how much STUFF I can fit into the little space that is mine, and how well I must have packed it in order to fit it into my two tiny closets.  Over the last few days, I have tried to sort through my belongings at the old place, and I have found myself asking the question more often than the last time I moved, “Do I really need this?”  As I consider the square footage of the new place, I have resorted to asking the question, “Have I used this in the last 12 months?”

 

Not only am I downsizing in square footage, I am also gaining a roomie… my fiancé, Lizzie!  This will be our very first home together!  Lizzie has moved from a 2-bedroom house in Los Angeles, and will eventually be moving into our small 1-bedroom apartment in Adams Morgan.  Needless to say, we both have some downsizing to do before we can live comfortably in our first place together.  I’m just glad we didn’t have to pack up and leave immediately like the Israelites did in Egypt.  (They didn’t even have time to let the yeast rise!)  And I’m afraid to say that I’m a bit too attached to my stuff to be comfortable with that kind of move just yet…

 

But aside from all these difficult downsizing questions, I’m sad to be leaving the house I’ve lived in for the last two years.  Memories of small group discussions, parties hosted, hot summers and cold winters (no insulation in this 1936 house), front porch sitting with my housemates, building a relationship long-distance, knee-slapping-laughs-til-your-stomach-hurts, and birthday dinners all come to mind as I sort through my stuff and pack my pictures. 

 

I’ll certainly miss the place, but there are memories to be made in my new home.  Lizzie and I can’t wait to have you all over for dinner, Bible study, and fellowship!

 

(also attached, a photo of the old place)

 

-Eric

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

