Nerd Alert

Well, I am one. Self-confessed nerd. I love school and nothing excites me more than a bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils, a brand new notebook and new books. So imagine how I felt for the first fall in 21 years to not be going to school!

I’ve always had this weird dream that I would attend university in a place that exuded Autumn. The leaves would change all of those beautiful colors, they would crackle under my feet as I walked and it would smell like pumpkin pie all the time. When I went to Baylor University and Truett Seminary in Waco, Texas, I soon learned there were only two seasons in Texas: hot and warm. My dream to walk on a campus during Fall never happened, but I am excited to tell you all that it will happen this Fall–tomorrow actually! I have signed up to take Prophetic Preaching with Dr William McClain at Wesley Theological Seminary.

I have my computer, highlighters, new pens and pencils ready. I have an outfit picked out. Check back with me in October-I think I’ll be happier than ever- crunching those leaves and wearing a sweater as I walk to class.

In other news, I went over to Church of the Epiphany’s Book and Bake Sale today and found all these books for $10! Treasures galore! They are open tomorrow too, so if you’re in the Penn Quarter neighborhood, I would encourage you to check it out. I met some wonderful people over there– Calvary and Church of the Epiphany have always had a great relationship to I was thankful to head over and see what they’re up to. I even managed to buy a copy of Street Sense on my way back to church and invite the man who sold it to me to church. He told me he loves to sing in the choir- I told him to watch out for Cheryl! Below are a few of the books I scored:

The Great Divorce, by CS Lewis, Escape from Paradise by Kathleen Sands, Callings:Twenty Centuries of Christian Wisdom and Vocation Ed. William C Placher, Watch for the Light: Readings for Advent and Christmas from Orbis Books, Peacework by Henri Nouwen, Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer, Men in Black Dresses by Yvonne Seng, Taking a Chance on God by John J. McNeill AND Breads:Manna from Heaven by Eileen Gaden.

I’m especially excited about this last book because it discusses bread referenced in the Bible and then gives you recipes. This will come in handy during November when the Pastor’s Sunday School class is At the Table: Giving Thanks and Breaking Bread. We’ll study a Psalm, break bread together and share in communion each week from October 26-November 23.

I’m willing to share any of these books…I better start reading. And anyone who wants to bring me a bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils will get some extra jewels in his or her crown.

Peace to you,

Leah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

